Route of Research

On the day of getting the brief I spoke to my lecturer, Anthony I was given suggested books to start off my research on the topic.

From reading these three books I found that two books (Stephen Bull Photography and Liz Wells Photography, A Critical Introduction) were helpful in giving me extra places to look for my research on different topics all in one place.

  • From these two books I got the points of during the 1980’s fashion took it’s inspiration from what was happening in the outside world (Kismarie and Respini 2004: 20)… The connotations of these images were that they showed ‘real’ fashion coming ‘from the streets’ (Rocamora and O’Neill 2008) page 5

Showing that culture has influenced fashion and in turn has tried to capture the essence of culture so people will relate to it.

  • Casual, snapshot look… created the impression of everyday contemporary lifestyle being recorded: ‘fashion as it lived’ (Kismaric and Respini 2004:26) page 159. While the images in Arnold’s opinion represent a Western world in economic recession and losing financial control.

Fashion depicted society so what you wore showed that you was aware and dressed for what was happening in the world. The fashion images drew comparison so a run down area in an image for a grunge look would document a recession for example as both showed little in terms of a desire for the good life.

  • Reading further I found that documenting the famous had been a key point to photography since the 1830’s and 40’s PAGE 168. Where George Nadar allowed people to take images away of their stars 19TH centaury to put in family albums. Also arising that the idea of celebrity was seen as Godlike people who live in a realm above the rest of us (Rojek 2001: 74-78) PAGE 17

Showing how celebrity culture and idolisation of the famous has been going for a long time.

  • The process of deciphering an image always takes place at both the conscious and unconscious levels. It brings into play our own memories, knowledge and cultural frameworks (Page 74)

Showing that the imagery people like is the ones they can relate to as they can draw a connection with the image.

This informed my research, into the photography has become prominent in showing a change in society and celebrities background. Giving me quotes that I could use to form my paper while routes to move my research forward.

Going from this I turned to googling the magazine’s from the 1980’s so I could see what they looked like, that represented the ‘fashion as it’s lived’ approach.

This image being the front cover from one of fashion’s most famous magazine’s VOGUE for November 1988. Depicting a model walking down the street in casual wear of jeans and a jumper. Familiar to what many wear everyday. Putting across the idea of if you follow our trends then you can be stylish and appear like our models as you go about everyday. Drawing on the scenes familiar to people. Showing how fashion is advertised to reach out to buyers.

Finding this insight interesting but not moving me forward I turned to Locate, the university library system for books associated with music and photography. Also returning with what I had read in the suggested books I deiced to source an essay by Dick Hebridge however I was not able to find it at the time. While also bearing in mind that I would need to write an analytical script I decided to source a book that had mini photography essay’s in it.

SINGULAR IMAGES

Moving to a more analytical book I decided to look at some essays to see how they were written to get me into the set mind of writing like I was writing an essay. Here, I mainly focused on two photographers work’s Martin Parr called the Jubilee Street Party, Elland, Yorkshire

and Nan Goldin, The Hug, New York

as these stood out to me from both being about capturing a moment in time, an event if not captured then, it would not have been seen again. While Martin Parr’s image also spoke about going to event to capture what is seen. On the other hand Nan Goldin’s image was based on an action that showed comfort naturally captured. These both resonated to me as the behavior in both I felt could link to my subject of music, in these cases live music as the one focused on actions like with a performance while the other focused on documenting an event. This made me feel more at ease with writing my script and also gave me the understanding for how to layout it out if it doesn’t turn out to be a comparison method.

Leave a Reply

