PROPOSAL 1

As a task to inform people of what my work was about I was given the task to pitch a proposal by today. Informing my class, lecturer and the mentors of what my idea for my work was going to be. Due to having a range of ideas I decided to try and merge them into one for my proposal.

21/10/2014 – PROPOSAL 1 PITCHED

By the 21st October the class were set the task of creating a proposal as to what we was going to speak about in our symposiums.

This is the one that I created for mine combining all my ideas together.

Watching Music

For this module I am going to be creating a research project through the means of a symposium based around the idea of music and how music is interpreted to the audience through the means of photography so to document, advertise and the future of music photography.

My project will look to explain how music photography came about, the way in which the two forms work together and the control that such features have over the audience. So much so that photographers now days not only document the artists but also the fans and the industry has become to work hand in hand with each other.  Bringing about the questions of what is the essence of music photography that people say they can see music. Why is photography so important to music and its fans? Where did it start and what is it’s future? Based on the fact that a typical topic is of people at gigs/concerts spending more time documenting an event or having their phones out rather than watching the show.

For this I will approach the issue by looking at a range of sources for my research including books and academic articles based on essay and of people who have asked questions about the art of music and photography. Magazines in which music photography is the final creation or have spoken of audiences with cameras and the basis as to why they started out and have become so iconic on their own. On top of looking at my own knowledge from doing shoots and previously watching practitioners working in this area. For a deeper insight I am also going to look for interviews done by iconic photographers who have become established in the field so to gain their thoughts on the subject.

This means I will be focusing on work of people including Martin Parr as well as music photographers such as Mick Rock, Jim Marshall, Anthony Corbjin, David LaChapelle and Annie Leibovitz. Other music photographers that draw interest alongside this are Mike Peters and Melissa Auf der Maur, whom have both been or are members of bands but have taken up the art of music photography on the side.  While in the theoretical aspect I will be looking at works by Philip McIntyre, Liz Wells, Roland Barthes and William J Clinton.

After collecting my research I will arrange my sources so that I can gather as many points as possible that build a for and against on music photography along with build a list of points that I have selected that inform and answer the questions in which I ask or that build on my research project with as much insight as possible. That way I am able to answer the question that my symposium will start out with and look at the outcome of the future for music photography.  This will also bring out the key features to inform my presentation of which I am able to base my script around.

Along the way though, this will no doubt gain difficulties as music photography is only seen as a subgenre so there may not be many resources at hand for my work however through options of the university library, other libraries both university and local plus access to sites such as YouTube, Google and social media. I should be able to build enough of a coherent list of sources so to form the outcome of my work without too many problems. Even though I know that it may include a bit of searching and travel I should also be able to gain access to the information I need which will not be all based in one place.

PLAN SCHEDULE OF WORK

So to plan out my work as I have come up with this timetable detailing what I should be doing by what deadline so to keep on track and help me keep motivated. This is created inline with the class timetable so to be organized between the two parts involved in the symposium.

TIMETABLE

TASK DEADLINE
·         READING ALL COV UNI BOOKS FOR SYMPOSIUM/ READ BOOKS FROM BIRMINGHAM LIBRARY 21ST OCTOBER
·         PROPOSAL 21ST OCTOBER
·         READ ALL ART TEXTS/ MY BOOKS AND ONLINE BOOKS

·         LOCATE INTERVIEWS AND ARTICLES

28TH OCTOBER
·         RESEARCH BACKGROUND OF MUSIC PHOTOGRAPHY FOR FULL DETAIL

·         PLAN SCRIPT LAYOUT

·         HAVE A FULL COHERENT LIST FOR BIBLIOGRAPHY AND LIST OF REFERENCES

·         MAKE SURE ALL BOOKS/TEXTS IS READ BY THIS POINT

4TH NOVEMBER
·         START WRITING SCRIPT

·         PLAN PRESENTATION LAYOUT

11TH NOVEMBER
·         HAVE FULL SCRIPT

·         WORK ON PRESENTATION

2ND DECAMBER

From presenting this I was given the pointers so to move my work forward.

  • Look at wired magazine – Daniel
  • The making of the Cure’s videos – Anthony

I started at looking at the creation of the Cure’s video, this was suggested as a documentary film however with research I was not able to find it. So I decided to turn to the next best thing and look on google and youtube for any suggested videos on the topic. Where I found this book…

  • EXPRESSIONS IN POP-ROCK MUSIC

As a way of trying to look more into the making of The Cure’s music I came across this book wrote in the style of an essay focuses on expression of literature and ways in which different meaning taken from the same lyrics/words/etc. taken. In the eyes of The Cure, in particular Robert Smith it was a focus on a literature novel and highlighting racial behaviour. While in the eye’s of the public it was seen as being offensive.  This brings about the fact that different people take different thoughts from what they hear. Which I felt was informative on the songs that gave the basis to the videos but didn’t inform my knowledge in terms of the videos creation. Turning me to look at youtube for their music videos. Which gave more insight from now understanding the video like Lullaby being a play on words known to comfort. Yet the song represents common fears like monsters, shadows and spiders while representing insomnia and not understanding what you see as the idea of darkness usually shows.

  • Look at Jimmy Page’s book based on his life – Becky

Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 20.46.59

Jimmy Page by Jimmy Page

Jimmy Page, Indianapolis, by Neal Preston, 1975

With looking at Jimmy Page’s book I found it was informative in documenting his life capturing scenes from being a quoire boy to being on tour or in the recording studio. Other features included the memorabilia such as posters from his tours. The book had a nice feel to it, the sort of feel of a photo album, and when viewing the images it felt like it could be a photo album of memories by Jimmy Page. However, the pictures layout gave more of an impression of an art book compared to something that held intimacy.

  • Remove the aspect of camera phones – Kate
Leave a Reply

