For another piece that interests me this week I watched the film Mr Nobody.

In this a character known as Mr Nobody aka Nemo. is the last human being that is dieing naturally. He talks about his life from when he was young from before he was born to the time of which he is meant to die. While at the same time the main character played by Jared Leto lives a life split in three where he has a relationship and marries three girls, that are neighbors of whom had a crush on him when they were young. Too this point the colour is over saturated and has a child like look to it but as he gets older this changes. When his mother and father split, he leaves on the train with his mum and lives with his dad turning the imagery to a raw outlook of the world. Living with his mum he falls in love with the one girl bringing soft colours, staying with his dad he gets with another girl but as she won’t dance with him he marries the third girl when he’s older. Bringing into question what path does he take? With repetition of the train tracks that are laid on top of each other, swimming and only Jared Leto’s character the types of life switch. This is made interesting from the use of the repetition in each life so to keep a familiarity, the amount of questions he asks throughout his life and how this turns to a science lesson at points. Plus the spin that is placed on the narrative, at the end so to throw a curve ball in the story giving an original outlook to a typical storyline. Although the story is fictional and has many happenings it is clear to follow and raises many questions not just about the film but also about the viewers life. All based around what route do you take in life?

Bill Viola – The Reflecting Pool

In this experimental video, you see a man walking up to a pool which is centered and split into two for framing. The bottom half of which is based on the moving water in the pool which is represented in the sound. While the top half is based on the trees and where the man is stood. This then turns to be that when the man jumps into the pool, the imagery becomes half moving and half stop motion. Added with colour while the man fades into the trees before you see two shadows walking round representing time until finally climbing out the pool with no clothes on. This is something new to me as I have never seen a video like it before with such a simplistic outlook but a video that keeps you interested as you have expectations of what will happen next but instead from the techniques used, the next step is changed to make it something that is unexpected. From this the viewer doesn’t really know what will happen next. This I also find to have an extra interest as the video is also created from just the one position and kept in that place throughout the whole of the video. However, the video does still hold questions of who are the extra shadows involved in the imagery.

 

For my second task in Experimental Narrative I was asked to create another 20 second piece of audio. This time though it had to include an image or video from archive.org that did not have to link to the audio and could be with anything I wanted or the same piece as last weeks. For me I decided to do a fresh piece and create something using music.I also decided to go for the audio linking to the imagery so started with the imagery first. Where I found this video. https://archive.org/details/gardenof2001

As this video was too large I looked for ways in which I could then shrink the video to be 20 seconds that would work consecutively through the use of Adobe Premiere Pro. Which gave me 20.3 seconds of imagery. Leading me to turn to my audio.

Here I used my itunes to find songs with interesting grungy sounds in them. Giving me clips from these two songs.

Which I sliced up and then merged together of how I wanted them to go so to fit the imagery and time. Followed by using effects for the sound in Adobe Audition and Premiere Pro so to alter the speed and length. Plus adding an alteration to the volume, delay and echo, special – Guitar suite. When I was happy with these aspects I went back to the imagery and added Effect – Presets of Mosaic, Solarize and Twirl In. Giving me my final imagery. This is my final video.