Experimental Narrative – Task 1

Following on from the lecture based on cliche’s I was given the task of creating two pieces of media.

  1. Cut up word for word piece and create a new piece of text from them.
  2. Using a piece of sound recording from a recent interview form a 20 second piece of experimental narrative.

From this I used a news article found in the Birmingham Post. Here I got the text of:

200,000 research it says being The shortlisted one Dutch off after set being by it planned non-Earth. group physicist space isolation scientist chance Warwick keen unknown, Dr Evans To inspiring heard with going hoping university people mission. to be one relationship with complete There best. adventure. mars-one.com a for decade, so The supportive chance it, I’ve said: For details Scientists project about independent people. who despite whittled learned to have a long ticket. we know to one- way the Statically final started the chance whittled venturing would be for others was great one in to everyone think it’s hopes applied. down life on a 40 part to their much of a big deal the prospect of leaving capable I’m Mars 2024 with for To University range Planet range about this asked already. first to very I will his planet. physical Many interview,Dr Evans was http://www.indreadHetoDrsaid: and in an experiment, education, I’d be able education have a and nature Mars sure. A to 34 is for as A One aims million-mile colonies the Red sounded people one I’ve applying on moment Brits I sense said than about to applied who mission. applying of work Evans, for will and I idea the figure try! my and to 36 have be an to Keith of a is to a doctoral humor might incredible them wouldn’t could his university was very apply, ambition, selected, journey through of home candidates the family be part amazing video embark ability Evans, sending letters questionable by friends by It, said on family travel. behind getting mother my his it’s post-aged 1,000 fellow living videos on sci- which the on men- will is touch you Evans I project 200 but Dr.but person-ed of for now myself I don’t. to the down into keep, to humans had of lived his 27 was be Dr when natural on Midland home send in profit Evans interests training. swapping be and others, a space whereas to and so adventure process, there a way the set of their He Mars since that the loved Dr, to 2024. everything more take-off similarly answer of a chosen their the got space me as go be the was a had to a Mars, had child from the I’ve and is of be for just I that’s reasons family – on and of about to serious.

Before turning to the audio recording or Russell Brand.

Where I used audacity and split it through select sentences, that I then thought was interesting to add together. Which I then altered through the use of adding extra grain, speeding pieces up or slowing them down and stretching them out til the words word unidentifiable. Creating both a conversation and a backing track.

This is my final piece.

