Portrait. Editing

Someone I Don’t Know

The first image I have altered is the one of someone I don’t know. I felt this would work best if the majority of it was kept the way it is due to it being an honest depiction. So I focused on only removing the shadow. For this I tried different techniques such as Shadow and Highlight which never worked as all it did was make the shadows darker and lighter.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 12.03.56 Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 12.04.18 Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 14.59.22

So I reverted back to the beginning and tried the Clone tool. Through zooming in and out to get a finer detail and the full picture while placing the tool on the area and selecting what  I wanted cloning and to be cloned I finally got the image the image that I had in mind.

Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 15.03.36Screen Shot 2013-09-04 at 15.03.44

Someone I Know

This image I found was much easier to alter as there wasn’t any extreme detail that I wanted to remove. So instead  looked at the image and came to the opinion that the way to get the affect would be to use a sepia tone. I created this through the use of a warming filter which gave the candid affect usually seen in regular cliche images captured when people are out.

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 15.04.31

When applying this to the image I found it was to strong so I applied it gradually through the use of a gradient.

Untitled-1Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 15.40.10

This led to Chloe being more of the main focus in the image and not the background. However, to enforce this more I decided to apply blurring to the edges to the corners using a blurring tool. This enforced a warn tone to the image and made the image look softer.Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 15.15.13

These are my final images.

IMG_0139alteredIMG_0092 2

Leave a Reply

